The Climbing Championships were held in Chamonix with the Lead and Speed specialists and for the first time ever, the European Paraclimbing championship.
As usual the splendid Mont Blanc backdrop lived up to expectations of this biannual competition and the Lead event was won by Russia’s Dinara Fakhritdinova, junior World Champion in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and now European Champion in her second senior season, in the mens category by 31-year old Romain Desgranges who’s victory gave the home crowd another reason to celebrate its “Fête Nationale”. Silver went to Slovenia’s Mina Markovic and Spain’s Ramon Julian Puigblanque, while bronze went to France’s Hélène Janicot and Holland’s Jorg Verhoeven.

Anna Tzyganova from Russia and Libor Hroza from the Czech Republic were the fastest sprinters while in the Paraclimbing competition victory went to France’s Nicolas Moineau, Spain’s Urko Carmona Barandiaran, Belgium’s Elodie Orbaen and Italian champion Silvia Parente, all winners in their respective categories.

Result Men Lead

1 Romain Desgranges FRA
2 Ramón Julian Puigblanque ESP
3 Jorg Verhoeven NED
4 Manuel Romain FRA
5 Dmitry Fakiryanov RUS
6 Magnus Midtboe NOR
7 Jakob Schubert AUT
8 Cédric Lachat SUI

Result Women Lead
1 Dinara Fakhritdinova RUS
2 Mina Markovic SLO
3 Hélène Janicot FRA
4 Maja Vidmar SLO
5 Charlotte Durif FRA
6 Mathilde Brumagne BEL
7 Magdalena Röck AUT
8 Evgenia Malamid RUS